

Board of Commissioners Special Meeting (Virtual Meeting) May 21, 2020 8:30 AM





Notice of Meeting and Agenda

Bi-State Development
Board of Commissioners
Special Meeting
(Virtual Meeting)
Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:30 AM
One Metropolitan Square, 211 N. Broadway, Suite 650
St. Louis, Missouri 63102

This location is accessible to persons with disabilities. Individuals with disabilities needing information or communication accommodations should call Bi-State Development at (314) 982-1400, for TTY access, call Relay 711. Sign language interpreter services or other accommodations for persons with hearing or speech disabilities will be arranged if a request for such service is made at least two days in advance of the meeting. Large print material, Braille material or other formats will also be provided upon request.

Agenda	Disposition	Presentation
1. Call to Order	Approval	Chair Holman
2. Roll Call	Quorum	M. Bennett
3. Election of Officers	Approval	Vice Chair Holman
4. Adjournment to Executive Session:	Approval	Vice Chair Holman
If such action is approved by a majority vote of The	1 pp 10 var	vice chair riomain
Bi-State Development Agency's Board of		
Commissioners who constitute a quorum, the Board		
may go into closed session to discuss legal,		
confidential, or privileged matters pursuant to Bi-State		
Development Board Policy, Chapter 10, Section 10.080		
(D) Closed Records: Legal under §10.080(D)(1); Real		
Estate under $\S10.080(D)(2)$;		
Personnel under $\S10.080(D)(3)$; Health Proceedings		
under §10.080(D)(4); Employee Negotiations under		
\$10.080(D)(5); Data Processing under $$10.080(D)(6)$;		
Purchasing and Contracts under §10.080(D)(7);		
Proprietary Interest under §10.080 (D)(8); Hotlines		
under $\S10.080(D)(9)$; Auditors under $\S10.080(D)(10)$;		
Security under §10.080(D)(11); Computers under		
§10.080(D)(12); Personal Access Codes under		
§10.080(D)(13); Personal Information under		
§10.080(D)(14); Insurance Information under		
§10.080(D)(15); Rail, Bus, or Facilities Safety and		
Accidents under §10.080(D)(16) or Protected By Law		
under §10.080(D)(17).		
5. Reconvene to Open Session	Approval	Vice Chair Holman
6. Adjournment	Approval	Vice Chair Holman

Open Session Item

3



BI-STATE DEVELOPMENT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOMINATING COMMITTEE (VIRTUAL MEETING) OPEN SESSION MINUTES THURSDAY, MAY 14, 2020

Committee Members in Attendance via Zoom

Other Commissioners in Attendance via Zoom

Herbert Simmons Rose Windmiller Justin Zimmerman Vernal Brown Terry Beach Irma Golliday (unable to vote – technical issues)

Staff in Attendance

Barbara Enneking, General Counsel and Deputy Secretary Myra Bennett, Manager of Board Administration Brenda Deertz, Administrator and Executive Assistant to the CEO

A meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Board of Commissioners of Bi-State Development was held at 1:50 p.m. on Thursday, May 14, 2020, via Zoom, (immediately following the Security Sub-Committee Meeting), from Bi-State Development Headquarters, located at 211 North Broadway, 6th Floor, St. Louis, Missouri, 63102.

Pursuant to the By-Laws and Board Policies, the following members of the Board of Commissioners had previously been appointed by the Acting Chair, Aliah Holman, to serve on the Nominating Committee: Herbert Simmons (Illinois), Rose Windmiller (Missouri), Justin Zimmerman (Illinois), and Vernal Brown (Missouri).

Nominating Committee Chair, Herbert Simmons, called the meeting to order at 1:50 p.m., and a roll call was taken, as noted above. Chair Simmons asked Barbara Enneking, General Counsel, for clarification of Commissioners eligible for office.

The following nominations were offered for consideration, as the proposed Slate of Officers for 2020-2021:

Rose Windmiller, Chair Justin Zimmerman, Vice-Chairman Herbert Simmons, Treasurer Vernal Brown, Secretary Bi-State Development Nominating Committee Meeting (Virtual Meeting) Open Session Minutes May 14, 2020 Page 2 of 2

Chair Simmons moved that the proposed slate of officers be officially nominated for the offices indicated, and that the slate be forwarded to the full Board of Commissioners for approval at its next regular meeting on Friday, June 26, 2020, with the new slate of Officers to become effective immediately upon the adjournment of the meetings on June 26, 2020. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Windmiller.

Commissioner Simmons asked if there were any other nominations or any further discussion. There being no other proposals or recommendations, Chairman Simmons called for a roll call vote on the motion, with the results being as follows:

Herbert Simmons – Aye
Rose Windmiller – Aye
Justin Zimmerman – Aye
Vernal Brown – Aye
Terry Beach – Aye
Irma Golliday – (a vote was not recorded, due to technical difficulties)

The motion passed 5 to 0.

With no further business appearing before the Nominating Committee, Commissioner Zimmerman moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brown. The motion passed, and the meeting was adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Deputy Secretary to the Board of Commissioners Bi-State Development